auroral oval
My first source to see where are the auroras now...or so! Red arrow shows noon...so on the other side , it's midnight left number shows how I'm feeling: 1: I feel sad! 10: I go nuts! the more red, the more I feel good! BIG THANKS TO: NOAA








spedometer
The more red, the more happy I am!








aurora dashboard!
Bz must be high, speed is better when high and a high pressure is something very good for northern light photographers! So , the more red, the better! BIG THANKS TO: NOAA








Kp index
Above 5, we have a chance to see them. When its yellow, I smile but when it's red, get out now! BIG THANKS TO: NOAA








sunspots
Explosions on the sun that spits out billions of tons of plasma in space The more, the better especially if they're in the center of the sun so that the explosions are heading our way on earth. If there are sunspots on the left, in 7 days, they'll be in the center because the sun takes 28 days to turn on itself...way to predict the auroras! BIG THANKS TO: NASA/SOHO








the sun in h alpha
This one shows sun's eruptions,,, the more, the merrier! By the way, the earth is only 1/108th of the sun's diameter!. So a small flame on the sun is many times as big as our small planet! BIG THANKS TO: NASA/SOHO








Sun spots
Explosions on the sun that spits out billions of tons of plasma in space The more, the better especially if they're in the center of the sun so that the explosions are heading our way on earth. If there are sunspots on the left, in 7 days, they'll be in the center because the sun takes 28 days to turn on itself...way to predict the auroras! BIG THANKS TO: NASA/SOHO








solar wind and solar system
The blue is the solar wind coming at us...good! The red is whats going away from us...bad! The sun is in the center of the spiral








auroral oval
The lucky few seeing the auroras now!








solar cycle
Every 11 years, there are more sunspots, so more explosions, so more auroras. The next peak is due around 2013-14. Galileo was the first to observe them with a telescope in 1610



© 2010 Michel Tournay / photographer

oval auroral
Ma source première pour voir ou sont les aurores maintenant ou presque! La flèche rouge indique midi, (donc de l'autre coté: il est minuit!) le chiffre à gauche ( 1 à 10) indique mon humeur... 1 : je suis triste... 10 je capotte! plus c'est rouge mieux je me sens! TOUTES LES HEURES SONT EN TEMPS UNIVERSEL POUR TOUS LES TABLEAUX DES PREDICTIONS GROS MERÇI À: NOAA








spedometre
Plus c'est dans le tapis, plus je suis content!








un dashboard d'aurores!
Le Bz doit être négatif, ou vers le sud, la speed doit être élevée et la pression doit être élevée. Bref, dans le rouge, ç'est meilleur!! GROS MERÇI À: NOAA








l'indice Kp
Au dessus de 5, on a des chances d'en voir. Quand c'est jaune, je souris pis quand c'est rouge, faut sortir dewors! GROS MERÇI À: NOAA








les taches solaires
Explosions solaires qui garochent des milliards de tonnes de plasma dans l'espace. Plus y'en a, mieux ç'est! Surtout si elles sont dans le centre du soleil. À ce moment là, ces explosions sont enlignées vers la terre. Si y'en a à gauche, dans 7 jours elle seront au centre pcq le soleil prend 28 jours pour tourner sur lui même...facon de prédire les aurores! GROS MERÇI À: NASA/SOHO








le soeil en h alpha
Sur celle là , regardez les éruptions solaires, plus y'en a, mieux ç'est! En passant , la terre n'a que 1/108 ième du diamètre du soleil... donc une petite flamme sur le soleil est plusieurs fois la grosseure de la terre! GROS MERÇI À: NASA/SOHO








Taches solaires
Explosions solaires qui garochent des milliards de tonnes de plasma dans l'espace. Plus y'en a, mieux ç'est! Surtout si elles sont dans le centre du soleil. À ce moment là, ces explosions sont enlignées vers la terre. Si y'en a à gauche, dans 7 jours elle seront au centre pcq le soleil prend 28 jours pour tourner sur lui même...facon de prédire les aurores! GROS MERÇI À: NASA/SOHO








systeme solaire et le vent solaire
Le bleu représente ce qui vient vers nous...très bon! Le rouge est ce qui s'éloigne de nous...moins bon! Le centre de la spirale est le soleil dans notre système








l'oval auroral
Les chanceux qui voient les aurores maintenant!








cycle du soleil
Tous les 11 ans, y'a plus de taches, donc plus d'explosions, donc plus d'aurores. Le prochain peak est prévu pour 2013-14. Gallilée fut le premier à les observer au télescope en 1610



© 2010 Michel Tournay / photographe